Scopus AI is a search tool that utilizes generative AI (GenAI) technology to assist users in retrieving and summarizing information. Built in close collaboration with the academic community, it provides insights by surfacing information from metadata, abstracts, and author profiles in Scopus, Elsevier’s source-neutral and curated abstract and citation database.
Scopus AI uses natural language processing. That means that instead of searching for the right keywords or Boolean operators, you can just type in your question, statement or hypothetical using everyday language. Depending on what you want to know, Scopus AI’s Copilot query tool decides whether to use a vector and/or keyword search to locate relevant documents from across the 7,000+ publishers in the database, focusing on those published since 2003. It synthesizes the content of these documents’ abstracts to create a referenced Summary of the information you are seeking.
Save time with research summaries designed to be reliable and easy to digest.
Use features that can support building and deepening your research knowledge
Open new avenues of exploration with Concept maps
Explore fresh and trending research opportunities with Emerging themes
Save time with a quick summary for topics of interest. Scopus AI gives you a concise and trustworthy summary with academic references for each search.
1. We consider the real-world impact of our solutions on people.
2. We take action to prevent the creation or reinforcement of unfair bias.
3. We can explain how our solutions work.
4. We create accountability through human oversight.
5. We respect privacy and champion robust data governance.
Gain a deeper understanding of generative AI (GenAI) with Library Connect Academy’s GenAI Literacy Program, a self-paced professional development course for librarians.
In three courses, you will learn:
Summary with Scopus references
Scopus AI generates three Go deeper questions for each query that is designed to help you drill down and broaden your understanding.
Enter follow-up questions and refine your thinking to:
The Concept map is designed to help you get a bird’s-eye view of the topic space and a more complete picture of your theme and its relationship to other research areas.
Clicking on a node will highlight how the node relates to the topic, and an explanation of the relationship will be provided beneath the Concept map.
The list of Foundational documents illustrates which papers heavily influenced the documents that Scopus AI used to write its response, specifically the Summary.
You can ask questions on your chosen topic in a natural, conversational manner, supported by our powerful Copilot search tool.
Here's how Copilot works:
Copilot analyzes the content of your query to determine whether to perform a vector search, a keyword search, or both.
It is designed to break down complex queries into their component parts and optimize searches for channels it uses; for example, for the keyword search it adds Boolean operators
In doing so, it considers more abstracts than the previous search
Support of non-English queries
We realize exploring a new topic area can be difficult enough if English is your first language. But if English isn’t your native language, delving into new subjects can be even more challenging. To address this issue, Copilot also includes an intelligent language layer, which can take a query in a non-English language and translate it into English, which is the language many researchers say they prefer to work in.
Copilot improves Scopus AI in other ways, including:
Automatic correction of spelling mistakes to help improve response clarity
Processing of longer text queries, including full abstracts
Expanding the number of search results Scopus AI provides - up from 10 in the summary and 20 in the expanded summary to a new upper limit of 30
In line with Elsevier’s Responsible AI principles, Copilot provides a transparency layer that explains how the tool is breaking down and optimizing your query. This feature is designed to enhance user understanding and is a step towards further refining Scopus AI.
Scopus AI draws on the rich Author Profiles in Scopus to introduce the most active authors in your chosen field, along with explanations of their relevant expertise.
Emerging themes is a new feature that is designed to help identify and categorize consistent, rising, and novel themes based on Scopus AI user queries.
It uses a new proprietary algorithm that rapidly scans Scopus documents from the last two years and clusters them by topic. This process effectively pinpoints “white space” that you can target for publications, collaborations, and funding opportunities.
For each identified theme, Emerging themes identifies the type of theme and provides a mini-summary, references, and suggested research hypotheses.
This feature can be valuable to a range of researchers helping them stay ahead of the curve and identify novel research areas.
We understand that research doesn’t just happen at your desk—it happens wherever inspiration strikes. That’s why we’ve optimized Scopus AI for mobile, so you can access its full power wherever life takes you. The mobile version offers:
A user-friendly interface that works on any device, from desktops to mobile devices, including smartphones and tablets
The same advanced search, analysis tools, and summary generation you enjoy on your desktop
Near real-time synchronization across your mobile and desktop, so you can pick up your work where you left off
Scopus AI now automatically saves past conversations so you can revisit key insights at any time. This enables you to resume a query where you left off and provides a useful overview of your previous topic explorations. Temporary conversation mode is available for users who prefer their chats not be saved. Users can rename conversations for easier identification and delete ones that are no longer needed.
Visit our infosite or Scopus blog to learn more
On-demand webinars
How curated, enriched & connected data enhance research insights Explore how Scopus data is used to inform Scopus AI, including topics such as content selection & integrity, quality & accuracy assurance, and bias minimization
Navigating essential practices in responsible Gen AI Learn how we addressed ethical implications, quality control and fairness during the development of Scopus AI
An in-depth exploration of Scopus AI Discover how researchers can effectively use Scopus AI throughout the research journey
How GenAI can support the research workflow and identify emerging trends
