Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Scopus LibGuide: Home

Scopus



Scopus uniquely combines a comprehensive, curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly content.

Quickly find relevant and trusted research, identify experts and access reliable data, metrics and analytical tools for confident research strategy decisions — all from one database and one subscription.

Scopus is a comprehensive, source-neutral abstract and citation database curated by independent subject matter experts. It places powerful discovery and analytics tools in the hands of researchers, librarians, institutional research managers and funders. Scopus powers better decision-making with curated, complete and connected data.

What’s an abstract and citation database?

Scopus is an abstract and citation database.

  • Abstracts are brief synopses of articles.
  • A citation gives credit to a source, and contains publication information such as author(s), title and date. Most Scopus citations link to the full-text version of the publication hosted on various publishers' platforms.

Scopus data model

Scopus data recognizes that articles are written by authors who have affiliations with institutions.

This relational data model means that Scopus can tell you who is researching what in global literature and where they are doing it with higher accuracy than anyone else. 

How big is Scopus?

Scopus has more than 80 million records — and that number is growing all the time.

FAQ