Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Engineering Village LibGuide: Databases

A guide for how to get started, search, personalize and take advantage of Engineering Village.

Engineering Village offers access to the following 14 databases—including its flagship, Compendex. 

Ei Compendex

Celebrating 50+ years, Compendex is an abstracting and indexing database, comprising coverage of >28M records of highly curated, globally published, scientific content, focused primarily on applied engineering research, literature and technical information.

  • It supports in-depth search and discovery of both engineering-specific and engineering-related content primarily in the physical sciences, while also addressing increasing interdisciplinarity in engineering (including the computer sciences), and physical science domains overall

  • Content is indexed and made discoverable through the assignment of controlled vocabulary specialized for engineering/physical science domains, using the Ei Thesaurus and thesaurus search

  • 1.6M records added annually

GEOBASE

The latest information on earth sciences, ecology, geology, human and physical geography, and environmental sciences.

GeoRef - AGI

Comprehensive geoscience literature coverage, including topics like climatology, hydrology, natural disasters and more.

EnCompassLIT & EncompassPAT

Databases targeted toward the downstream oil and gas industry, providing superior insights from scientific literature and patents, including:

  • Over 1.2 million abstract records from conferences, technical reports, and trade and scientific journals
  • Features patents from over 48 patenting authorities around the world

Knovel

Elsevier’s engineering solution for mid-to-late stage R&D, with content that improves outcomes in development, scale-up, and manufacturing.

Inspec - IET

A comprehensive engineering research database provides the academic, industry, and government sectors with an intuitive, searchable engineering database that covers a wide variety of fields. Inspec provides engineering research information on physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and control, mechanical, production engineering, information technology and more.

National Technical Information Service (NTIS)

A pā€‹ā€‹ā€‹remier source of unclassified reports from the United States and international government agencies.

Ei Patents

Research new and innovative technologies, find out what already exists to check novelty, ensure the quality of a patent application, and gather competitive intelligence:

  • United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)

  • European Union Patent Office (EPO)

  • World Patent Office (WIPO)

PaperChem

One of the pulp and paper industry’s most important resources for news, information and data.

Chimica

A database featuring chemical engineering literature from leading journals, covering topics like organic chemistry and analytical chemistry.

Chemical Business NewsBase (CBNB)

A leading provider of worldwide chemical business news that tracks trends and developments in the chemicals industry.