SciVal LibGuide: Home

View the short video below to learn more about SciVal.

For many years, Elsevier has supported the careful use of metrics and indicators in the evaluation of research and has advocated for a combined qualitative and quantitative approach. Following the successful Snowball Metrics community partnership on research metrics, the International Center for the Study of Research (ICSR) was established in June 2019 to work in partnership with the research community to further develop responsible approaches to research evaluation. As a part of this, Elsevier has:

• Stated its support for the EU Agreement on Reforming Research Assessment agreement/Coalition for Advancing Research Assessment (CoARA) in Sept 2022.
• Signed the Declaration on Research Assessment (DORA) in December 2020. 
• Endorsed the The Leiden Manifesto for Research Metrics in July 2020. 

SciVal provides extensive metrics guidance within our Research Metrics Guidebook, the Support Center and also in-product at point of use to help users better understand the metrics and potentially avoid misinterpretation of them by understanding their strengths and weaknesses.

The core of SciVal is based on data from Scopus®, a source-neutral abstract and citation database curated by independent subject matter experts. SciVal receives a weekly update of new data from Scopus and due to processing times this means SciVal is typically 1-2 weeks behind Scopus. Scopus uniquely combines a comprehensive, curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly content, enabling the creation of authoritative author and affiliation profiles.

SciVal uses Scopus data from 1996 to the current date, which covers over 60 million records from more than 7000 publishers worldwide. These include:

• 27,900+ serial titles such as peer-reviewed journals

• 152,000 conferences

• 314,000+ books

• 74,300+ individual book series

SciVal also includes data of the following types:

• Policy - Policy data in SciVal is licensed from Overton and is updated weekly. Overton is the world’s largest searchable index of policy documents, guidelines, think tank publications and working papers from policy documents in over 150 countries. SciVal receives all policy docs with DOIs that map to Scopus publications.
• Usage - Usage data in SciVal is called Views Count and is based on COUNTER compliant usage data from Scopus. The metric is the sum of Scopus abstract views and clicks on the link to view full-text at the publishers website.
• Awarded grants - SciVal covers Awarded Grants from 20 funding bodies around the world, with data from 2009 onwards and receives a weekly update of funding data.
• Patent Article Citations - SciVal identifies and counts citations that research publications have received from patents. Patent Article Citations data comes from:
  • European Patent Office
  • UK Intellectual Property Office
  • Japan Patent Office
  • United States Patent and Trademark Office
  • World Intellectual Property Organization
• Media Mentions - Mass Media data is updated monthly and is delivered via a near real-time feed from the LexisNexis Metabase portal.

Learn more about the data sources in SciVal.

SciVal is a modular solution that provides access to the research performance of over 24,000 research institutions and their associated researchers from more than 230 nations globally. This provides you with the flexibility to tailor your analyses and build your insights into global research. 

SciVal includes the following 6 modules plus Reporting and My SciVal

• •    Overview module – visualize and understand research performance with high-level overviews for you and your peers globally.
• •    Benchmarking module – compare your research performance to any institution globally, or profile developments in research fields over time using an array of research metrics.
• •    Collaboration module – Evaluate existing or potential collaborators across research fields to build strong teams and partnerships.
• •    Trends module – Analyze developments and gain a deep understanding of research fields and the leading experts and contributors globally.
• •    Grants module – Access funding landscape intelligence to discover funding trends in priority areas, funding bodies active in these areas and the leading researchers and funding recipients.
• •    Impact module – Understand and demonstrate the broader impact of your research on society using impact data, metrics and insights.
• •    Reporting – Create tailored reports across all 6 modules of SciVal to update stakeholders, track progress and inform management decisions.
• •    My SciVal – Create, manage and organize your entities to make finding, sharing and analyzing them in SciVal straightforward.