Whether you are planning, progressing or evaluating your research strategies, searching for experts to develop targeted funding bids or looking to demonstrate the broader impact of your research activities, SciVal can help. Its modular structure means you can configure SciVal to meet your specific needs and address organizational priorities.
With access to the research performance of over 24,000 research institutions and their associated researchers from more than 230 nations worldwide, SciVal provides the flexibility to build your insights into global research.
For many years, Elsevier has supported the careful use of metrics and indicators in the evaluation of research and has advocated for a combined qualitative and quantitative approach. Following the successful Snowball Metrics community partnership on research metrics, the International Center for the Study of Research (ICSR) was established in June 2019 to work in partnership with the research community to further develop responsible approaches to research evaluation. As a part of this, Elsevier has:
SciVal provides extensive metrics guidance within our Research Metrics Guidebook, the Support Center and also in-product at point of use to help users better understand the metrics and potentially avoid misinterpretation of them by understanding their strengths and weaknesses.
The core of SciVal is based on data from Scopus®, a source-neutral abstract and citation database curated by independent subject matter experts. SciVal receives a weekly update of new data from Scopus and due to processing times this means SciVal is typically 1-2 weeks behind Scopus. Scopus uniquely combines a comprehensive, curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly content, enabling the creation of authoritative author and affiliation profiles.
SciVal uses Scopus data from 1996 to the current date, which covers over 60 million records from more than 7000 publishers worldwide. These include:
27,900+ serial titles such as peer-reviewed journals
74,300+ individual book series
SciVal also includes data of the following types:
SciVal is a modular solution that provides access to the research performance of over 24,000 research institutions and their associated researchers from more than 230 nations globally. This provides you with the flexibility to tailor your analyses and build your insights into global research.
SciVal includes the following 6 modules plus Reporting and My SciVal